Intimacy

I’ve been thinking a lot about intimacy this week. No, not just *that* kind.

What is true emotional intimacy? How do we establish it? How do we nurture it? How much of it do we need in our daily lives in order to feel connected to other people and not just like an island adrift? How do we decide who our intimates should be? How does intimacy change naturally over the lifetime of a relationship (whether it’s with a friend, family member or romantic partner)? And how do we know what needs to be done in order to reestablish it if it fades or whether we even should? And if it dies in an important relationship…how should we grieve and then move on?

About Tabby

Forty years of fabulous, and counting.

Posted on July 16, 2011, in friends, kith and kin, letting go, love, transitions. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Complete friendships are rare. So many different things have to be in alignment for them to last beyond the friendships of convenience or time of life. I’m grateful that I have experienced a number of complete friendships in my life that continue to this day. I’m also glad that I had the opportunity to marry my best friend, and that intimacy is even stronger today.

  2. I’m having a difficult time with this right now. So often, I realize I had what Kato describes as complete friendships after I no longer live in close proximity to the friend. Am I afraid of intimacy while near them? Kind of like I’m afraid to get too close to my neighbors because I will never be able escape them? Right now, I am challenged by the forced friendships that seem to stem from my children and their friends. But I don’t have the time to nurture friendships in non-kid areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

