Today in Chocolate: Sizzling Bacon Bar

I like chocolate, but I am not a Chocolate Lover. I don’t like things marketed to women that presume we all start tossing our 36Ds at whoever presents us a with a Hershey Bar. I will not buy a book called Chocolate for a Woman’s Soul, simply on principle.

At a restaurant, I’d be more likely to order something lemon or caramel. Given my choice of the ultimate food, it would be a perfect peach.

Still, I’ve learned that some days call for chocolate.

If I thought I was controlled by hormones in my teens, wow—they got nuthin on my 40s. Teen hormones were something more like a ferris wheel: highs and lows. Forties hormones are like a roller coaster built by spiteful demons: nauseating highs, terrifying plummets, and lots more curves. And at certain hormonal times, chocolate is required.

It’s so required that my husband will go get it late at night, when I have that certain hysterical gleam in my eye. My husband who works from home and often wears pajamas until dinner will gladly get dressed and get us a soothing nibble of something just a touch less dark and bitter than my mood at the time.

So it was that my daughter—after a lengthy crying jag that covered death, pollution, and swimming—said that she needed chocolate, and I decided to heed her call.

After searching the local fancy candy shop, this is what she decided to come home with.

Sure, Vosges has had a bacon bar for a while, and bacon has become old news as a fusion food. What made this bar interesting to us was that:

1. Apparently Christopher Michaels is the chocolatier for the Academy Awards,
2. He is originally from Brainerd, Minnesota, and was inspired by Minnesota lake and fair memories,
3. Not only does it have bacon, but it has Pop Rocks! (or generic equivalent)

That’s right. So when you eat it, the popping candy pops in your mouth like sizzling bacon. Hello! Is that not happy-making food when thoughts of beaches you love and your eventual departure from the earth is overwhelming you?! It’s like the bacon is fresh and hot and the little fat bubbles are still popping as you snarf it down—with chocolate! Just when I thought bacon-as-trend was completely played out.

One downside: the bar cost freaking $8.75. When I told my daughter she could choose any chocolate bar, this possibility had not occurred to me. “A one-time treat,” I made clear as I drove home, barely able to stop myself from pulling it out of the paper sack and ripping it open en route.

Is it my top chocolate for Cacao Alert level day? Perhaps not. But it was worth a try, maybe more than one time.

Rating: 4 eggs out of 5, partly for novelty factor

Do you have a chocolate you’d like to submit for review? Sans bacon, please.

About mina

Like a rock: sometimes hard, sometimes crumbly, occasionally brilliant, sometimes dense.

Posted on August 5, 2011, in body, foodie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I could do without the bacon but I do love the idea of the pop-rocks. And I AM a chocolate person though I would also skip the Chocolate for the Woman’s Soul on principle as well. My hormones need chocolate, my soul looks for something a little more significant.

  2. I have recently learned that good quality dark chocolate is a source of both iron and magnesium (Possibly other stuff, too). I know that these are things women of our age are often recommended to take supplements for.

    Like you, although I like chocolate, it isn’t necessarily my dessert of choice. But I’d far rather eat chocolate than take supplements.

Leave a Reply

