Moving on up!

We have been living in a small town in northern Indiana for the last four years. This might be the longest I have lived anywhere.

No wait, from birth to age five I lived in the same house, by the bay,  in  southern Texas. Then we moved to Florida and we kept moving, every couple years, to a bigger house or smaller one, depending on my mother’s financial situation. If I am counting correcting I lived in 9 houses (and went to 13 schools) from age 5 – 18.

Then, once I was out on my own, I moved year or so, living in 10 place, in 12 years.

The 11 years my husband and I have been together and have had our daughter we’ve lived in Virginia, 4 different places in Southern California, and then Indiana. I’ve worried about moving around so much with my daughter and if I was doing her any damage. I guess time will tell.

But right now we are all just really excited to be moving again. This time we are heading to Philadelphia. We will be working and living in the city, with all that has to offer (museums, restaurants, cool shops, public transportation, etc.) And Philly is real close to New York and not much farther from D.C..

We are renting a house this first year, which means we will be moving AGAIN next year when the lease is up, and moving into the house that we buy. Fun! Not really, moving sucks. That is all I am doing these days, getting ready to move. I am almost too busy to excited about my awesome new future. Almost.

So, how often have you moved?

About Annamelle

I split my time between homeschooling and writing a novel. I'm interested in and inspired by fairy tales, Jung, Buddhism, myths, architecture, nature, etiquette, hidden histories, dreams, Emerson, old books, Gaiman, and legends. "Make the most of yourself....for that is all there is of you." — Emerson

Posted on August 7, 2011, in transitions. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. 12 apts/houses until I left for college at 17, another 7 places in college (and summers) and then only 5 in the past 19 years (including 1 for 11 yrs), the most recent a year ago. I am not a fan of moving but I am excited about the adventures that await you!

    • 11 years in one place! Did you like that place? Otherwise you moved a lot, like me.

      I have loved this house and this neighborhood and, at one time, I thought we would stay here for a long long time. I am going to miss this place, but I am really excited.

  2. Between 16 and 26 I moved all the time, more than once a year on average. Since getting married at 26 I’ve only lived in 5 different places, which is pretty good. I hate moving with an intense passion! Not to be negative or anything . . .

    My dislike of moving has more to do with chaos and disorganization and less to do with change, though. I love a new adventure. There will be so much to do and see in your new place, and you always do a great job of making your home look personal and comfortable.

    • Thanks Mina. I am very excited. And though there is a lot of work to do to get our house here ready to sell and I SO SO happy that we have professional movers taking care of the move.

  3. I lived in the same house from age 11 months until I went to college. I went back to that house for summers during college and back again for almost 2 years right before I moved in with my husband (but about 6 months before we were married). For the first 5.5 years of marriage, we lived in 3 different rented places (2 apartments and one house). We finally bought a house and have lived here for almost 9 years. And, by the way, it’s located less than 1/4 mile from my childhood home, where my parents still live.

    • Wow Anne Jaye! That is nice! Must mean you are in a good location.

      My husband and his sister are similar. They lived in two houses throughout their childhood, moving to the second one when they were still very little. That is the house that my SIL lives in now. It is a great house in a great area.

  4. Glad to know I’m not the only person to have moved alot. I’ve had maybe 35 homes in my life. It would be nice to be more settled.

  5. We’ve lived in the same house for 17 years now. It’s bizarre… my younger two kids have lived in this house their entire lives. I had 5 different addresses before going to college, and after college had 5 more addresses in the next 9 years, before moving into this house. I feel so darn *planted* at this point. I kind of like it, though…

    My husband’s parents moved into a new house right after he was born. And moved out 48 years later. So I guess my kids’ experience is more like his than like mine. I would happily stay in this house as long again as we’ve already been here.

Leave a Reply

