“Let go. Let go. Let go.”

This morning I heard this piece about End of Summer Regrets on NPR. Psychologist Dan Gottlieb

Summer is over and maybe we didn’t do everything we thought we would. We didn’t get to the beach enough or at all. We didn’t take the family camping. We didn’t starting that exercise program at the pool. We are starting Fall and the new school year with some regrets.

We may be troubled over similar regrets at the end of each week, or even each day. Dr. Gottlieb says we need to “let go of the idea that They need you and that the world won’t be right” if you take time off from your responsibilities and schedules.

We postpone joy because we think we are too important to others and to the scheme of things, to step out of it.

I love what he says at the end of the piece about the idea that we will “go to the beach” when we get all our ducks lined up. He said to remember that they are ducks and ducks never stay in a line.

This was exactly what I needed to hear this morning, as I was contemplating the decision to stay home and finish unpacking, stay home and homeschool while trying to finish unpacking or take my daughter to the awesome new park I found. I needed this reminder and the permission to let go of my to-do list sometimes and have fun.

About Annamelle

I split my time between homeschooling and writing a novel. I'm interested in and inspired by fairy tales, Jung, Buddhism, myths, architecture, nature, etiquette, hidden histories, dreams, Emerson, old books, Gaiman, and legends. "Make the most of yourself....for that is all there is of you." — Emerson

Posted on September 12, 2011, in health, inspiration, letting go, stuckness. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Funny, just tonight I was praying and my spirit kept telling me, “just spend time with your kids. Stop trying to do everything else. It’s not working. You will just have to wait. So, just play with your kids.” It’s so hard when life looks like it is in dire need of your attention because clearly you are doing something wrong since its so out of order, but something deep inside of you is telling you to just wait. Go to the beach.
    I keep trying to remind myself, forget what you think you should be doing. Do your best and then let it go. Sigh. I guess I’ll be playing with the kids tomorrow! 😉

Leave a Reply

