Circle of Friends

I never had a lot of female friends. I tended to hang out with guys when I was growing up, and when I was a grown up. It was pretty normal for me to be the one girl in a group of guys. But, recently, I have befriended several women, and many of them were the “one girl in a group guys” girl. Now I am part of a close group of female friends. This is definitely new territory.

Every so often, something comes up with a friend, or in the group dynamic, that pushes me in new and uncomfortable ways. I don’t know if it is the “femaleness” of the friends or my age but I find myself needing to both grow more and more clearly define who I am, to develop/maintain my friendships. Sometimes it is challenging. But I think it is a good thing. When I didn’t have female friends I didn’t know what I was missing.

Now I feel like I am part of a circle, and, wherever I go, they are with me.

About Annamelle

I split my time between homeschooling and writing a novel. I'm interested in and inspired by fairy tales, Jung, Buddhism, myths, architecture, nature, etiquette, hidden histories, dreams, Emerson, old books, Gaiman, and legends. "Make the most of yourself....for that is all there is of you." — Emerson

Posted on October 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am in the same state of mind. 🙂

  2. So true! The conversation with female friends is so rich when you have minds that connect.

  3. Socializing is always new territory for me, with males or females or both. I’m bi-anti-social. 😉

Leave a Reply

